Pupil blogs up and running

hi! I’m emma! I’m in year seven at school and are doing this in I.T. but I don’t really want to. It’s better just to mess about on the internet like my friend says she gets to in her lessons. This is my first ever blog and I only think I’ll do it again if I have to, unless it’s for a certain reason. In I.T we are also doing a presentation which everyone can already do. I suppose it does help you learn a bit though which is good for the teachers.

So far I’ve had a few small-scale attempts at getting students and pupils to blog. We’ve tried using the Moodle blogging facility (no comments, blocked to The World through the login system, difficult to ‘manage’ effectively), I’ve had a brief fling with Nucleus and now I’ve plumped for B2Evolution. I’ll talk more about why another time.

Anyway, I have some Lower Sixth uploading work so they can compare against each other but that’s going pretty slowly and trying to enthuse that apathetic bunch is going to take some time methinks.

On the other hand I have a lovely group of Year 7 pupils and today we spent some time looking at blogs, discussing what we liked and didn’t and then we had a brief go at writing blogs ourselves (well, themselves. Obviously I’m already an expert :-D). I told them I would show the blog off to colleagues around the country, nay even the world (OK, so I got a little carried away – but I want them to be enthused!) . So if you find time then have a wander over, and please leave some comments for them – I know they’d get a kick out of it.

http://tinyurl.com/ydgxx2

4 thoughts on “Pupil blogs up and running

  1. Hi,
    I’d be interested in your reasons for going for B2Evolution for the pupils and wordpress for yourself?
    I’ve stuck in a couple of comments, I am not too sure where year 7 are, the first year of secondary school?

  2. HappyHippy says:

    Hello John,

    Thanks for taking the time to look, and post comments. I’m sure the kids will appreciate it.

    I’m planning a reasonably sized post discussing the merits of the different solutions I’ve tried but the short answer is that I didn’t want to host this blog on the school’s server and I like the WordPress interface and the Edublog communitiy. I was also really taken with the way that B2Evolution handles multiple blogs.

    And yes, Y7 is 11/12, first year secondary.

  3. AB says:

    Hi HH,

    good to hear how you are experimenting – have you thought about Multi-User WordPress? This is what James is hosting for Edublogs. Well worth a look if you like the WP interface.

    Glad you liked Max the dog too!

  4. HappyHippy says:

    TBH I hadn’t found that plugin when I opted for B2E and I’ve already switched the AS students over from one blog to another.

    I’m very happy with B2E, but I might try WordPress for that in the future.

    We are using WordPress with Podpress for a school podcast feed but those involved last year seem to have lost interest so we’re in hiatus at the minute

Leave a Reply

