Signing on

OK, so we’re near the end of term, my Y8s have finished and uploaded their websites, so now what? Well, after chatting with them about kids’ TV (in particular Justin on CBeebies) we got on to simple sign language.

So today, with 20 minutes left at the end of the lesson, we had a look at some BSL (British Sign Language) websites and started learning some very basic signs. I can now say “Hello, my name is Mr. C” as well as “My cow is ill”. I’m not sure which will come in more useful, but the plan is to write and then video some simple sentences. A quick bit of editing in iMovie, add some subtitles and we’re done. Cracking good fun and they’ve been signing “Afternoon, Mr. C.” across the playground at me all day.

Leave a Reply

