So what did you do at work today?

I’m very proud of myself today 🙂

Not only did I get through a whole class load of GCSE coursework marking, not only did my Y9’s run through Yacapaca reveal them to be dolts barely worthy of a level 3 but my Y8s put their BSL work to good use.

Last week we had a look at 3 or 4 British Sign Language websites with a view to some online tuition. Today we discussed a scenario (new, deaf pupil joining the school), thought up some appropriate and helpful phrases and then recorded them. I’ve spent an hour editing, adding titles, a soundtrack etc. and have a 2 minute video all ready to go. I’m just waiting on parental permission to allow one pupil’s image to be shown online and it’ll be up on the Showcase blog. Expect another one next week as well as I have a fortnightly Y8 class in just before the end of term.

Some days I really love my job.

Leave a Reply

