Some bad news…

Has it really only been 2 weeks since my last post? It feels much longer…

Partly it’s been due to a heavy workload, but I’ve been a bit out of sorts lately. I had some bad news over Christmas and a close relative has been diagnosed with secondary Cancer and things aren’t looking too good.

I haven’t talked to many people about it and I’ve resisted posting about it thus far, however now I have a good excuse to.

Back in my Windows days I used to run a distributed programming project (think SETI@Home – a small number crunching program runs when your computer isn’t being used and sends the results back to the project organisers) aimed at proteome folding with a long term view to helping cure Cancer. I wasn’t aware of a similar solution for the Mac until I came across Boinc.

Boinc is an open-source, cross-platform solution for a variety of distributed programming projects. Anyone can donate spare computing time while their machines are sat idle. All you need to do is download the program and then attach yourself to a project (or more than 1 if you want to).

I’ve just put a post on the school blogs site asking people to install the software and donate their screensaver time to the Rosetta@home project which aims to help cure serious diseases such as HIV, malaria, Cancer and Alzheimer’s.

If you have a spare machine that you don’t turn off as often as you should, then why not make use of all those spare CPU cycles?

Leave a Reply

