Apoplexy

I give up, I really do. At KS4 and 5 there is a scheme called OSCA (I have no idea what it stands for, but the point is that you moderate some sample coursework from the exam board and if your marks are close enough to theirs then you are unlikely to be called for moderation on your own students’ work).

So I’ve spent most of the day (from 7am) looking through exemplar work, moderators’ comments, mark schemes, checklists and eportfolios. I have a blinding headache but I’m done. I’ve written my feedback, totted up the scores, I just need to copy and paste it into the exam board’s system. So I log on to the exam board’s website, or try to, and I see a message that the website shuts down overnight. Every night.

Stop a minute and read that last bit again. I don’t think I’m making this up, but it sounds like it. This website shuts down every night at 10pm prompt. The coursework expects the students to point out the advantages of transactional websites over traditional ‘bricks & mortar’ business models (one of the main advantages, of course, being 24 hour accessibility). Am I the only one to see the irony (or sheer stupidity) of the situation?

Words fail me. I bit my tongue so hard it almost bled in an attempt to not launch my laptop through my kitchen window. Am I alone? Is it normal for websites to do this? I know they occasionally go down for maintenance or what have you, but every single night?

I shouldn’t let it bother me, I have the work done and another 7 days (- server downtime of course) to get the stuff uploaded. Still, it’s the last thing I need after an incredibly stressful weekend.

*Sigh* *Deep breaths*

Leave a Reply

