Saving files…

Following my recent post on uploading graphics files I’ve come across a different problem with my Year 10 GCSE group. It’s a small group and 4 or 5 of them were having real problems overwriting files accidentally. I tried demonstrating how to examine the ‘last modified’ date but they were still losing work and so I told some of them to Save As… and to include the date in the filename (e.g. identify_22_02_08.doc) if ever they were in doubt. Which has worked, except that now around half of them have folders full with 30 or 40 revisions of the same file.

I’m wary of trying to get them out of the habit as they will doubtless start to overwrite files again. Anyone else come across this problem? Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

