Social Networking

Well, it finally happened – I was pestered into signing up for Twitter.

It took me a couple of days to get into it, but I have already picked up some useful links. The problem is this – I subscribe to a number of RSS feeds (including blogs and del.icio.us accounts), use Facebook, several forums and now Twitter (via Tweetdeck which I heartily recommend, having never used an alternative). Oh, and I run this blog and several in school as well.

It’s starting to sound a lot like work. I have decide what information to post here (longish thoughts and reflections), on Facebook (daily or bi-daily personal goings on mostly) and what to put on twitter (at the minute I’m still unsure as to the balance between hourly minutiae and daily things that are interesting).

My del.icio.us account has fallen by the wayside and I’m not even getting started on the likes of Flickr.

The point? There isn’t one really – I’m reflecting here! I need to make sure I’m doing what I want to do (at the minute that’s anything other than my Y9 reports) and that it’s useful in both a long term sense (making contacts, discussing technologies and being up on the latest trends) and in the short term (actually enjoying myself).

And besides, this wouldn’t fit under the Twitter character limit…

Leave a Reply

