Work/Life Balance

Work/life balance – the bain of a teacher’s life. We all know people who err too far on either side of the line, and I definitely do. Over Easter I spent far too much time marking coursework and preparing resources and Schemes of Work and not enough time with my family and the garden (which is looking pretty sorry for itself – as do I when Mrs. Hippy tackles me over it).

Last week the family were away for a short break, whilst I was back at school and left to my own devices of an evening – so more opportunities for looking at innovative and interesting ways of sucking more of my personal time away! At least part of the problem is that what a lot of people count as work, I count as fun. Investigating ways to use Google Docs in the classroom – or out of it, creating more graphics tutorials, finding out about new qualifications and so on is to me, what YouTube, MySpace and Facebook are for your average 13 year old.

Those who’ve read Danny Wallace’s Yes Man (the book, most definitely NOT the film) will know what happens when you say Yes to everything. It can be wonderful, but exhausting. I need to get used to saying No! Missing the odd Ed Tech Roundup is not a bad thing! Spending a night or two without using Twitter will not leave me socially bereft! Playing snap with my daughter and reading a book with my son are both more important than making sure a group of pupils have the opportunity to learn how to imitate Roy Lichtenstein using Photoshop, Fireworks, Paint.net AND GIMP!

Now, where did I put that report on Functional Skills…

2 thoughts on “Work/Life Balance

  1. Mary says:

    I know exactly what you mean. My problem – if it is a problem – is that my work and my hobby are intrinsically connected. I spend many hours a day paid to train people in using Moodle then come home and give free advice on Mooodle forums and create related materials – because to me it’s fun. My line manager warns me that one day I might wake up and find myself totally utterly sick of said VLE and then find I hate my job and have no hobby to turn to… and he could well have a point. Unlike you, my two children are virtually grown up and have no desire to have their parent offering them quality time – unless of course it is as a taxi service. So I have the luxury of being able to indulge my work/hobby…. anybody got any ideas what I can do to redress the balance? (and don’t suggest knitting as someone I know has done!)

Leave a Reply

