Embedding Learning Technology

Run Run Shaw Room @ Bafta

Run Run Shaw Room @ Bafta

Embedding Learning Technologies
Ah… Another day, another conference (or that’s how it feels – although they always seem to come in pairs!). I had the privilege of speaking at the SSAT Future Schools event at BAFTA earlier today and I have to say I think it went quite well.
I had a last minute panic on the way down and decided to rewrite half of the presentation – but ultimately for the better I think. While I continued with my basic premise of small scale, bottom-up innovation vs large scale, top-down innovation but added in some practical examples of use as a counterpoint to the theory and strategy talk.(1)
Some of the other presentations were also very interesting. @dtester talked at length about parent engagement and how his college is using the Frog learning platform to create a parent portal – something we are all required to do in some form or other in the immediate future.
Mark ****** demonstrated how simple it is to get students recording, editing and producing videos, both in school and out – and to great education effect (Paraphrasing: “In order to make a video about something, you have to think about it” – instantly engaged learners!)
**** How also talked about the new i(nformal) CPD resources planned by the SSAT. Some of this looks quite interesting, although I think it was pitched more at SMT (not least because I was the only teacher I could find who wasn’t in the command chain). But it’s definitely something worth watching.
All in all, I had a great time, in a fantastic setting (I apologise for the Cheesey photo, but it had to be done). I’m not quite ready to post the entire presentation online (the train wifi isn’t ideal for uploading content and investigating hyperlinks) but it’ll be up shortly – I’ve just promised 50 senior leaders!
(1) I like to think that one of the reasons I was asked back by the SSAT was because my previous talk was very practical in approach and focused on providing simple opportunities.

Ah… Another day, another conference (or that’s how it feels – although they always seem to come in pairs!). I had the privilege of speaking at the SSAT Future Schools event at BAFTA earlier today and I have to say I think it went quite well.

I had a last minute panic on the way down and decided to rewrite half of the presentation – but ultimately for the better I think. While I continued with my basic premise of small scale, bottom-up innovation vs large scale, top-down innovation but added in some practical examples of use as a counterpoint to the theory and strategy talk.(1)

Some of the other presentations were also very interesting. @dtester talked at length about parent engagement and how his college is using the Frog learning platform to create a parent portal – something we are all required to do in some form or other in the immediate future.

Mark Richardson demonstrated how simple it is to get students recording, editing and producing videos, both in school and out – and to great education effect (Paraphrasing: “In order to make a video about something, you have to think about it” – instantly engaged learners!)

Bill How also talked about the new i(nformal) CPD resources planned by the SSAT. Some of this looks quite interesting, although I think it was pitched more at SMT (not least because I was the only teacher I could find who wasn’t in the command chain). But it’s definitely something worth watching.

As an added bonus, Paul Hynes did some Augmented Reality demos and the Future Schools team is releasing 10 pre-built models (skeletons and muscles for Biology, solar system for Physics, interacting molecules for Chemistry, etc…). Apparently they’re being built by custom developers using FLAtools

All in all, I had a great time, in a fantastic setting (the Run Run Shaw room was packed out for both of my sessions). I’m not quite ready to post the entire presentation online (the train wifi isn’t ideal for uploading content and investigating hyperlinks) but it’ll be up shortly – I’ve just promised 50 senior leaders!

(1) I like to think that one of the reasons I was asked back by the SSAT was because my previous talk was very practical in approach and focused on providing simple opportunities.

Leave a Reply

