Why I love working in this school



lest we forget

Originally uploaded by striatic

Just a short one today…

It was my turn to do an assembly last Thursday – in front of 235 Y10 pupils. After planning an assembly in some detail I swapped at the last minute to a Remembrance Day assembly. Leaving aside most of the whiz-bang, video driven stuff I normally do I spoke at length about what the day means to my and about my brother-in-law’s experiences in Iraq and Afghanistan.

All 235 sat in absolute silence and paid rapt attention. When playing the “2 minute silence” music video at the end of the assembly I was watching their faces and not a soul was turned away, drifting off or trying to catch the attention of the person next to them.

It might be that it was just an awesomely powerful assembly, but my over-riding impression after the assembly is that I love working in this school.

Leave a Reply

