Work/Life Balance?

Balancing act

Originally uploaded by Brother O’Mara

Two students of mine missed a week of school to go on an army course. Which is fine.

The next lesson, they were due to catch up the filming work the rest of the class had done in their absence. Taking advantage of the opportunity to work unsupervised (as I was with the rest of the class), they mucked about, achieved literally nothing and damaged some expensive equipment.

They both had a session booked after school today to complete the filming under supervision. Neither bothered to turn up.

The only punishment I can realistically offer is to organise the equipment and the supervision for another night. Net loss to pupils – nothing. I can’t allow them to fail and I have to rise above any petulant desire to vent my frustration.

And so I find myself quietly seething, almost 5 hours after the end of my working day.

What balance?

2 thoughts on “Work/Life Balance?

  1. Oh, you have my heartfelt sympathy. I’ve got a bunch of kids due to take exams in summer. Out of a class of 20, I have 8 with outstanding coursework, some of which has to be marked and those marks set for external moderation by the end of the month. I simply cannot get them to come in and complete the work. I can’t get them to do it in lesson time as they’re already behind and don’t want the rest of the class dragged back with them. I attempted to issue lunchtime detentions and was told by my HoD that this wouldn’t be possible as there are too many and it would look bad for the department if the HT found out.

    Good grief.

Leave a Reply

