Which Way?



Which Way?

Originally uploaded by edd.ie

I’ve started planning for the next Teesside CAS Hub Meeting and following the last one, which was really an introduction for local teachers, I wanted to go down a more pro-active and supportive route.

My initial plan was to have a number of short workshops on a variety of topics, but then I saw that Alan O’Donahoe was planning a meeting all about Python (http://caspreston.eventbrite.co.uk/), having run the previous one on Scratch and it got me to thinking about what model would work best.

I ran a quick survey after the last meeting and the consensus was that short-medium sessions of 30 minutes – 1 hour were preferable, rather than 2 hours on one topic, and I have a responsibility to respond to that of course. I can’t help but wonder, though, if a longer session on a smaller topic might be more productive in the end…

I’d be interested to hear the thoughts of others about their experiences of attending or running either long or short Computing CPD sessions.

2 thoughts on “Which Way?

  1. I’ve done a decent amount of Greenfoot workshops, which are usually either 1-hour or 3-hours. Obviously, the 3-hour workshops allow more experimentation and learning than the 1-hour. But whichever length I deliver, realistically a one-off workshop is always a taster rather than a deep learning experience. Teachers/students don’t go away from my workshops with a complete knowledge of Greenfoot that will last a lifetime, but hopefully they do go away with a decent sense of what Greenfoot is about, and some will take it upon themselves to continue and learn more.

    So my suggestion would be: make the session long enough to give the participants a representative idea of what they’re being shown. My feeling is that if an hour really is enough to give an idea of what Greenfoot is like, most other systems can also fit into that time-frame — if you focus on giving a taster session, rather than giving a slow step-by-step guide covering everything in depth.

Leave a Reply

